"Yellow Bandana Bondage"

I coined the phrase “Yellow Bandana Bondage” years ago as a joke. It was in reference at first to the yaoi fandom in Battle Royale. No, I won’t explain that, you can figure that out yourself. But it later became adapted to refer to a habit of mine.

That habit is that I almost always have a bandana wrapped firmly around my head. And if it’s not on my head, it’s usually in my pocket or in my bag. The colour doesn’t matter, but my favorite bandana was my yellow one. Again, the yellow bandana habit started in reference to Battle Royale. One of the characters wears a yellow bandana and I thought it was cool.

However, the “bandana bondage” comment came about in regards to me when I was asked why I have a bandana.

Nowadays, it isn’t so much about emulating a character from a movie.

I have a very specific reason why I try to always have a bandana on me no matter what.

Zombie Apocalypse preparedness.

Yeah, that’s right. I’m really a dork that way, but I’ve discovered that a bandana is extremely useful for more than just looking badass. I think that a bandana is one of the most essential things that anyone can have on them, especially in a crisis situation. Like a piece of rope, a bandana has many uses.

The most important one, in my opinion, is that you can make an excellent tourniquet from a bandana. And believe me, I’m accident prone on even the best of days. Especially when I’m stomping around through the underbrush and playing survivalist.

Then of course, if you find edibles, you can carry them back with you in your bandana.I have brought many a wild raspberry home wrapped in clothing items. (This is also why I usually have a jacket, hoodie or other kind of layered clothing.)

And of course, in the worst case scenario, you can tie up that annoying intruder, loose cannon member of your party or that new love-interest who you didn’t know you were in love with until you were making out in the trees.

Yellow bandana bondage indeed.

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

One response to “"Yellow Bandana Bondage"

  • Wicked Julia

    I live in a city where long scarves are a fashion statement worn by both men and women. Because of that, the selection of scarves available for purchase is fantastic and I have a constantly growing collection. The first time I had to bind up my purchases with my scarf because the wimpy plastic bag broke, I thought about scarf uses during a Zombie Apocalypse and haven't stopped. In my humble opinion, everyone should carry at least two. One to wear and one to bind. You never know what will happen or who you will meet in the course of your day.

