Wibbly-Wobbly Timey-Wimey Time Management

I suck at time management. I tend to underestimate (or overestimate) how longs things are going to take me to complete. I tend to cram too much into too few hours. I compromise on certain things and shuffle personal goals and deadlines to compensate for the horrors of not having enough hours in the day.

I don’t sleep.

I over-caffeinate.

I never half-ass anything, however.

As a writer, this is especially important. You need to be able to manage your time wisely.

I tend to get lost in my worlds and spend more time than I intend working on things that may or may not be important in the long run.

I also tend to forget to do things. Like eat.

This is why deadlines are SO helpful. (At least for me.)

I find that having a goal and a deadline in which to meet said goal gives me the motivation and the drive to figure out what my time should be spent on. Knowing that I have a weekly deadline of 500-1500 words to write and submit is helpful. Knowing that I have a deadline for such and such a book thing to be published on such and such a date so we need to start advertising such and such now really does help motivate me to get those words written, even on days when I feel like writing is gonna kill me.

I’ve been running a home business for 4 years. This year I have chosen to let my convention circuit fizzle in order to pursue my writing. (And so far, I don’t regret it.) Not having the pressure of preparing for huge conventions is great because I can focus on the projects that are demanding my attention without having to chop up my writing time into chunks to spend building convention product.

That being said, I still have goals. I still have FAR too many projects on the stove all at once.

And I know, I let my blog slide and you didn’t get a Free Fiction Friday last week. (Sorry. That was due to life things, not poor time management.)

Time management is something I’m still working on perfecting. Knowing where I need to focus my time and efforts, and learning to estimate the time to do anything properly so that I’m not always feeling like I’m behind schedule is a slow learning process for me. But at least I’m learning. I’m trying. I will learn to bend the wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey ball of time management to my will one of these days.

And my deadlines be damned.

This is not an excuse for not fulfilling life duties, however. Family, friends, chores, etc. shouldn’t be neglected for you to finish your word count.

Except during NaNo when you’re allowed be socially inept for 30 days. ;)

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

