Writer Wednesday: Blank Page Jitters

(Okay, so it’s Thursday, I didn’t forget to blog properly on Wednesday, I didn’t have time and that’s been my problem.)

On the plus side; I have gotten most of my work that needed to be done this week finished in record time. It’s why I’ve been MIA for the past 2 weeks — I have found myself burdened with glorious purpose deadlines.

Most of them have been writing deadlines, some were self-imposed (like the script portfolio that I’m building) and some were given to me by my publisher/editor (like getting the Blaze Tuesday edits done and writing the review of Walking Dead last week for Zombie Training Magazine.) Then I have the other ones that have nothing to do with writing but need to be done as quickly as possible because I’ll run out of time if I let them sit too long.

I’ve finished the writing deadlines now, though, and I’m sitting here looking at the next project. It also has a bit of a deadline, though it’s far more relaxed than the others.

I have the entire plot planned out and written down, and I know exactly how it’s going to go, and how many books will be in the series and all that sort of fun stuff. Yet, I’m sitting here staring at the blank page and having a wee bit of panic.

It feels like a weird kind of performance anxiety, like stage fright/jitters that you get right before acting in a play or something.

It’s kind of awesome, to be honest, and at the same time it’s extremely nerve-wracking. I don’t want to feel pressured about writing, I shouldn’t feel nervous, and yet that blank page is staring into my soul, mocking me, daring me to fill it with words that will evoke feelings and wonder and…

…I haven’t got a clue why I’m feeling this way. This isn’t my first rodeo. I’ve written a lot. On deadline. Full novels, too. And still, this current project is giving me the heebie jeebies.

Do you get the “blank page jitters”? How do you overcome them? Leave me a comment!

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

4 responses to “Writer Wednesday: Blank Page Jitters

  • AK

    I overcome the blank page jitters with dumb little rituals. I light a candle. I make a cup of tea, and then I set a timer – usually for 15 minutes. I freewrite until the timer dings. I am allowed to type “I don’t know what to write” a million times if that’s what it takes – no holds barred freewrite. Generally that jangles stuff loose enough that next time I just need the tea or the candle to remind me that my job is to get to the page. If I’m really tied up in knots, then 15 minutes is a “doable” chunk of time. It’s not intimidating. It’s not big. It’s just 15 minutes. I don’t have to have anything to show for it.

    • kaikiriyama

      I forced myself to get out of the house yesterday. I holed up at a local tea shop. It worked, I got 3000 words written after the dinner crowd left and I have a good idea of where I’m going and what my “voice” is sounding like in this one.

      • AK

        That’s great! I FINALLY made myself get back to the page tonight and cranked out 2065.

      • kaikiriyama

        I had some other stuff to do today, so writing took a bit of a back seat. I’m usually a hermit when I write so actually getting anything done in a public place is a big deal for me. I’m fully intending to write tonight, I just need to get into the right headspace. and maybe I’ll try to go to sleep early and get a head start on it tomorrow, yay for weekends. (Ha ha, yeah right.)

Leave a Reply

