Writer Wednesday: Balancing Act

I’ve been struggling with trying to decide what to blog about today. It’s been a hard day to think of something to talk about when all I wanna do is sleep and watch bad television programmes. (I didn’t do either of those things, FYI, I did housework, cleaned my snake’s tank, did some top secret Blaze Tuesday work, and made dinner.) But then, it clicked.

Today I was offered a job, and I accepted.

This is something that I’ve been vying for for a few weeks now. I finally got the message that said  “yes, you can come work for us.”

Awesome, I’m thrilled. It’s been an uphill struggle to find a steady source of income. I’ve been lucky so far, that my family has supported me and I’ve had a few commissions come in from my home business, but for the most part I’ve been broke and annoyed.

But this message comes in with 6 days to go until my first book is released and 3 weeks until my second book is released unto the world like a flood or a plague or something equally obnoxious. This announcement that I have been waiting for for months has finally come through right on the cusp of me needing to be an online presence to usher my baby into the cold, harsh hands of the world. I’m likely not gonna be there for the first steps that my baby, Blaze Tuesday, takes into the gaping maw of indie-published books.

This also means that I am suddenly giving up 20-30 hours of my week plus travel time, to work instead of to devote to writing.

Wow. That’s a lot of hours.

And so now I am here, worried about all of the above things and worrying that I’m not going to be here to do my writing. That this is going to be another thing on the chopping block of things that must be cut because I don’t have the time to do it all.

And then I tell myself to breathe and seriously consider laying off the caffeine for a little while.

It’s all about balance.

Life is all about balance.

So now I get to take the next step and figure out how to balance all of this stuff.

Which is good. This is going to be the next grand adventure.

I’m pretty sure that this means no more slacking and far less twitter insanity for me in the next little while. And maybe, y’know, I’ll be able to sleep regular hours.

Again, this is not my “real job”. This is my “day job”. This is how I am going to pay my bills and buy myself junk food and movie tickets and new shoes until my writing can do that for me. This is not a step back as a writer. This is a step forward as a functioning human being. (Damn, why must I hide my true TimeLord self with this assumed human identity?)

So don’t fret about your job. Don’t fret about school.

If you are a writer, you will continue to write. No matter what. J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter on the bus to work every day so that she could feed her kids. I see no reason why I can’t do the same with Blaze Tuesday.

Just remember, it’s all about balance.

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

4 responses to “Writer Wednesday: Balancing Act

  • meganpaasch

    First, congratulations on your new job! And second, you’re right. It’s all about balance. You will find time to write. You’re just going to have to shuffle things around a little bit. You can do it!

    • kaikiriyama

      Thank you! It came at both an excellent and horrible time! Mild panic attack time! Ha ha.

      For me, this really means that I can’t procrastinate anymore. It means that there will be less sitting around, staring at the ceiling and twitter insanity. It means a lot more scheduling and a lot less taking on of small projects that I can’t fully devote my time to. I also assume that this is gonna mean no more staying up until 3 am to watch for temporal anomalies and likely a “regular” bedtime.

      I used to work 70+ hours every week between 3 jobs and I STILL managed to find time to write, so I think managing 20-30 hours a week at a part-time job and finding time to write and stay caught up on my TV shows will be relatively easy.

      I’ve made my first steps into being a “real” writer. This job is just to help me along the way until I can pay my bills with my writing.

  • aryeahunt

    That is wonderful! I hold down a full time job and a part time job, and it is a juggling act to get any writing in. Oddly, when I was out of work, I found I was less inspired to write- so perhaps I need to have pressure. You’ll manage, because if it is in you to write, you will find a way and your readers will be patiently waiting for any and all news.

    So excited about your books! Can’t wait to read them.

    I have a snake too! A ball python- what is yours?

Leave a Reply

