Irregular Post: NaNoWriMo and the fastest novel

So Camp NaNoWriMo starts in April. About 2 weeks from now, writers the world over will be frantically scribbling words and drafting novels.

I personally love the concept of NaNoWriMo. Blaze Tuesday started out as a NaNo novel, and look at where that ended up. Actually, Pathogen: Patient Zero also started life as a NaNo novel.

I know from experience that the editing process on a NaNoWriMo novel can be twice as long as a regular work because of the frantic pace. But, I love the frantic energy of NaNo anyway. It gives me something to work towards. A concrete number of words every day. A goal that I can track and a sense of urgency. Not to mention the mild frantic pull of competition.

Yes, I imagine that NaNo is somehow competitive, even though I don’t compete with anyone directly. I dunno, it always seems like a contest to me.

Anyway, despite everything that has happened to me, I’m still (likely) going to participate int he NaNo events this year.

Why?

Consistency, mostly.

I’ve been doing NaNo for 4 years, so it seems unnatural NOT to participate.

But it’s also the sense of community that I get from it. The sense of participation.

And heck, two of my soon-to-be published works started life during NaNoWriMo and Camp. So why not?

And if you’re wanting to write but not sure where to start? Can I suggest doing your first draft during a NaNo event? You might surprise yourself.

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

One response to “Irregular Post: NaNoWriMo and the fastest novel

  • meganpaasch

    This is true! It’s a great way to just get the words down and work towards a goal. I had the best experience with my first NaNo this last November, and plan to participate in April as well!

Leave a Reply

