Writer Wednesday: I suck at this Blog thing

So remember when I said I was starting a new job?

Yeah, I’m in week 3 and I haven’t updated my blog since starting. I’ve been so tired! I work in a kitchen now 4 days a week for shifts that vary between 4 and 10 hours plus about 90 minutes (sometimes up to 2 1/2 hours) of travel time one way, by public transit. On those 10 hour days I don’t typically get home until 7 or 8 pm and to be honest, I usually just collapse after that.

Which explains why I haven’t been keeping up with my blogging here and stuff.

But you can find me ramble on twitter, so that’s always a thing.

Also, it’s Camp NaNoWriMo. As I write this, it’s Day 3 and I haven’t started writing yet. On day 1 I wrote 20,000 words. No, this isn’t an April Fool’s joke. I’m actually kind of proud of myself to have been able to pour that much out onto the page (or in this case, into Scrivener) in one day. Needless to say, that’s not quite a quarter of the desired word count for this novel and I think I rambled quite a bit in my exhaustion so that’ll need some clever editing. I’m excited for this new book though, and I’m glad that I have Camp NaNo to give me the kick in the ass that I have been needing to get back to writing insane amounts of words every day, even when I’m completely exhausted and ready to collapse from work. 

This story is pretty awesome, for me, anyway. It’s aiming to be around 95-100,000 words of high fantasy (or is that now called ‘epic’ fantasy?)  The plot is that the Norse gods have abandoned Midgard and Loki is making plays to take over. Midgard is plagued with disease, famine and wars and the people are desperate for help from anywhere. One man in particular awakens to the truth that will bring the gods back from their abandonment of Midgard, and it sends him on a journey to seek out the truth and to seek out his true power.

It’s a far cry from what I usually write and I’m really enjoying it so far. (Thank you NaNo!)

So, who all is doing Camp? You can find me on the forums there (rarely) under the username KaliYuga. 

If you’re doing Camp NaNo, come sprint with me on Twitter when you see me. (@thekiriyamaheir) 

What are you writing about right now? 

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

