Sad News Regarding Publishing

If you follow me on twitter or Facebook, you’ve probably noticed that I’ve been off for the past week or so. (Week and a half if I can be completely honest, and it was a problem that had been brewing for a lot longer than just the past 10 days.) I haven’t been myself, and I admittedly have been much more bitter, cynical and angry than I usually am.

If I snapped or offended you, I apologize sincerely and am here to offer an explanation.

My books Blaze Tuesday and the Case of the Knight Surgeon and Pathogen: Patient Zero have been completely pulled from ebook stores everywhere. They are no longer available for purchase and I have left the indie publishing house that I was with due to irreconcilable creative differences.

I want to sincerely thank everyone who hosted my Patient Zero blog tour, and everyone who has supported me this far. I’m not sure what will happen to these books now. Knight Surgeon is going in for surgery (pun definitely intended, by surgery I mean rewrite and edits, FYI) and I am fully intending to continue with the Blaze Tuesday PI series. 

The Pathogen series has 2 more books to follow Patient Zero, although I have absolutely no idea when those will be written.

I will be looking into other avenues for publication, be it other indie publishers, self publishing or (fingers crossed) a traditional avenue for book publication. I am unsure about which will happen when and where and I will keep you all posted as often as I can.

Again, thank you so much for your support. It means the world to me and I can’t express how much I love you all. Thank you, from the bottom of my raggedy little heart.

Love,
Kai Kiriyama

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

6 responses to “Sad News Regarding Publishing

  • cantrelljason

    I’m sorry you got stuck dealing with such a crappy situation. I can only imagine the pain and difficulty. I hope you figure out a way to get your books back out there.

    • kaikiriyama

      Thank you. I’m kind of decompressing right now and trying to figure out what my next couple of steps should be. I’m not ready to throw in the towel completely, but this leap of faith has certainly left a bitter taste in my mouth.

  • Scrambles

    Internet huuuuugs! I wish I knew sooner. We could have ice cream and Break things with slingshots :(

    • kaikiriyama

      The whole thing kind of just slowly built up and I didn’t feel right discussing it publicly in the middle of it. I’m still happy to take you up on that offer though! Ha ha. My slingshot needs a workout anyway. :P

      But yeah, it’s been sucky and frustrating and the anger and frustration and stress is a lot less now. I’m mostly just confused now, and disappointed and not sure where this leaves me. Aside from “unpublished” and “aspiring” again. (Although, fuck the word aspiring because I’m still a writer, dammit.)

  • Aryea Hunt

    Sorry to hear the bad news. I’ve noticed that indie publishing is easy to break into, but a bitch to actually get any recognition or sales. I hope your books find a new home soon. I am delighted I at least had the chance to read Blaze. Never give up, you have an amazing talent. :)

    • kaikiriyama

      What I’ve noticed with indie publishing is that the advent of super easy just-click-publish formats like smashwords and createspace means that anyone and everyone thinks that they can create a publishing house. Then they take on writers with no experience or who have been rejected a hundred times and are desperate (not that I was there, I signed on for other reasons) and then there’s no real marketing, no build up, and it falls apart. So it’s a lesson and a mistake and I’ll just bounce back from it eventually, and I will be SO MUCH MORE careful in future about where my books land.

Leave a Reply

