Monster Creator Monday: Fuck Self-Doubt

That’s right I said it.

And I’ll say it again.

Fuck Self-Doubt.

And do it in a very uncomfortable way.

You wanna be a writer? No. Screw that. Do you write words? Yes? Do you tell stories? Yes? Then you’re a writer.

A very good friend of mine has been writing for a few years. She’s much younger than I am, and she has been seriously struggling with self-esteem when it comes to her writing. She has been convinced that she is no good despite evidence to the contrary. Self-doubt has been eating away at her and discouraging her for almost as long as I’ve known her.

She sent me a message today:

“Guess what? I’m a really fucking good writer.”

I had to ask what changed and she just said that she decided to believe in the hype that everyone was telling her. She finally said fuck the self-doubt that was plaguing her this entire time.

If I wasn’t busy at the time I’d have danced around cheering and popping champagne for her.

I know the feeling. I know the nagging horribleness that is self-doubt. (As I’m writing this I’m actually sitting here struggling with some self-doubt over choices I have made recently and am worrying about what my works are gonna do in the future etc. blah blah blah.) It’s not a good feeling, at all.

Get confident, my friends. And fuck that self-doubt.

Remember: writing is never permanent. You can ALWAYS polish. You can ALWAYS improve. Your first draft is never gonna be a shiny diamond, and a good story is a good story no matter how poorly written it is. That’s what editing is for.

So fuck that self-doubt and get back out there and keep going.

Because no one else is gonna tell your story, except you.

Tell me: what’s your biggest self-doubt and how do you overcome it?

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

