Weekend Update: In which I review DIVINE MISFORTUNE

I’m usually very wary and hesitant to pick up authors I’ve never heard of, and have never read before. I’ve read some really terrible books on recommendation, and since I live mostly under a rock I miss all kinds of pop culture things. (This is also how I was finagled into reading TWILIGHT. Don’t judge me.)

So my brother gave me a copy of MONSTER (which I shamefully haven’t read yet) and I snagged a copy of DIVINE MISFORTUNE  a while ago, I decided it was time to give A. Lee Martinez a try.

DIVINE MISFORTUNE is a book that is totally relevant to my interests, since I’m a bit of a mythology nut. It is set in a world where online services similar to dating services can hook you up with the deity that is right for you.  Our protagonists settle for a lesser god of luck and prosperity and things get wild from there.

Of course, when trifling in the affairs of the gods, things are never quite what they seem to be, so of COURSE there’s lies of omission and a dark force threatening to destroy the humans the luck god has associated himself with. We get a book full of Celestial beings kicking the snot out of each other and a good old fashioned romp through the world of the ancient gods and goddesses.

This book is honestly laugh-out-loud funny. It’s a great story with fun, well developed and highly likable characters and a deeper plot than what I was originally expecting.

I enjoyed this book immensely and I’ll be reading more of A. Lee Martinez as soon as I can.

I’m giving this book 4/5 stars.

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought about it in the comments? Oh, and if you’ve got a suggestion for books I should read in the future, leave me a comment, too!

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

