Holy Crap, I’m Writing YA: Part 4

*punches computer*

*punches characters*

*punches self for starting this whole mess of a YA project*

*punches plot*

*punches 70k word count goal*

*punches wall*

*screams into pillow*

~~

It’s not going well for me today.

I finally broke 20k words on Friday (which was yesterday as of this writing) but then my momentum just… kinda… stopped.

And that’s been the way of this story so far. I’ll sit down to write and most days it’s so…

…slow…

…and painful…

…like pulling teeth…

But then I’ll get into this WICKEDAWESOMEGROOVE.

LIKE A SUGAR HIGH!

AND-EVERYTHING-FLOWS-SO-WELL-AND-YOU-FORGET-SPACES-AND-TYPOS-BE-DAMNED-I-AM-ON-A-MOTHER-FATHER-ROLLRIGHTNOW!!!!!!!!!!!1

And then you stop. You check the time, or take a drink, or get a snack or something and the magic is gone.

Maybe it’s bedtime ’cause you have to be up in less than six hours for work.

Or your city is flooding and you’re desperately trying to make sure your family and friends are okay.

Or whatever.

And then your’e looking at this manuscript going “wow, for a project I wasn’t 100% committed to, and for a thing that is way out of my usual comfort zone, this is actually not sucking.”

Okay, so this is how most of my writing goes and it’s not just completely because I’m writing YA or anything, it’s just that it seems like this is a major thing for me with this specific project.

I’ve been struggling to make word count goals. I’ve been struggling to write in any more than 10 minute bursts at a time before my train of thought is violently derailed in the southern hemisphere of my brain.

I feel like this is all coming on because I’m trying to write about experiences that I have no real firsthand experience with. Aside from bullying, but that hasn’t happened in the story yet.

So I don’t get it.

I’m struggling and I’m stuck. I wonder if it isn’t because I have far less of ap lan than I usually have for writing novels? Or maybe I’m just still hung up on the fact that I’m sitting here trying to write something that can be classified as a YA?

I dunno, but I need to get unstuck.

*puts on angry music and wanders off back to work*

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

2 responses to “Holy Crap, I’m Writing YA: Part 4

  • aryeahunt@gmail.com

    I think we all have days like that. Sometimes the harder you work to write consistently the harder it is to write. You need a sounding board…someone to bounce ideas off of. Feel free to ask me or find a buddy
    . Keep working at it…you’ll get there . :)

    • kaikiriyama

      This story is out of my usual comfort zone. I could easily have this thing finished if it wasn’t in a HIGH SCHOOL SETTING. It’s also a collaboration, so anything that I write can be vetoed or changed at any time. So far, I’ve been lucky and my partner has approved everything I’ve done, so here’s hoping that’s a good sign.

      My biggest problem is that I never was a typical teenager (as I mentioned in the first post of this series) so I’m feeling a bit disconnected from the whole teenage angst thing. My strengths are really showing through here though — my attention to detail, my really strong characters, my elaborate but easily accessible worlds — these are the best parts about this book right now. I have a really awesome plot set up, it’s just getting the tone right, and making the action and non-action flow together coherently.

      I know that once I get to the place where I REALLY wanna be, the words will just flow like so much chocolate fondue.

Leave a Reply

