Back in the swing of Writing Things

I haven’t written anything since November.

I hit 50k on my NaNo project (with still probably 30k words to go before the draft is even finished) and then quit to make preparations for Christmas. I managed to get all my handmade Christmas gifts made and mailed out on the 12th or 16th of December, or something like that I forget the date. Then I spent the next 13 days making gifts for my at-home friends who I would see on the 28th for our party.

No writing was involved there, either.

Now it’s 2014, and I’ve decided to make this year my bitch.

It hasn’t worked so far as I got a rejection letter on New Year’s Day at 11:08 a.m. — believe me, that sucks huge amounts of balls and didn’t set the tone for a particularly good week.

It’s now January 5th, 2014 and I’ve been slowly but surely working my way back into my habit of writing like a devil.

I’ve put about 1000 more words into my NaNoWriMo project, Arthur 13, which I’ll talk about later, and I’m writing this blog post to procrastinate from writing a spec script that I’ve been putting off for a few months (because of holidays and not having all the details worked out in my head, but that’s a whole other story.)

I feel sluggish, like my brain needs to reboot. (Which it probably does.)

Don’t push yourself too hard. I find that pushing yourself to get right back up to your highest level of wordsmithing after an extended break is the fastest way to make yourself feel like you’re not good enough, and if you’re not on a deadline (aside from a goal or other word for self-imposed due date) then I see no reason why baby steps aren’t perfectly acceptable.

Just work your way back up to the pace you need to be at slowly, set easily achievable goals for yourself and get back to where you were at your own pace. Because, that’s what matters, right? Working at a pace you’re comfortable with. We’ll all get to the end in our own time. Just getting there is the important part.

For the record, I’m right on track with where my Whiteboard of Writerly Doom is telling me I oughta be. So that’s comforting.

Anyone else feeling sluggish after the holidays?

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

