2014: The year of rejections

Holy crap.

I can’t believe that we’re already 2 weeks into 2014.

I know that I said I was gonna make 2014 my bitch, but so far, I’m feeling more like the bitch in this relationship.

I got a rejection on New Year’s Day. It came in at 11:08 a.m. which was a surprise in and of itself, I wasn’t expecting a rejection letter THAT QUICKLY after I’d submitted the query. I mean, that was like… maybe 2 weeks after I’d submitted? It was surprising, and not a good way to start my New Year, but whatever.

That’s the thing too, y’know? I’m already feeling really sluggish and that writing is kinda less of a priority than, I dunno, sleeping? (I’ve had wicked migraines since October, dammit, winter in Southern Alberta, damn you and your Chinooks!) So a rejection on New Year’s Day, after I’d be so very determined to kick this year right in the balls, was a serious downer.

So I think that now is a damn good time to think about how to bounce back from rejection because really, rejection sucks. And you’re gonna deal with a lot more rejection than you are gonna deal with acceptance. And that is just the name of the game.

First off, understand and reconcile the fact that a rejection is NOTHING PERSONAL. It has nothing to do with you, personally, and if you are getting a form letter with little more than “this book isn’t a good fit for this office” then usually it has nothing to do with the quality of the book.

Second you have to understand that there’s more agents out there. Keep trying. You’re going to get more rejections than acceptance letters. I’ve heard horror stories of a single book getting over 100 rejections before getting an acceptance letter. It’s okay. You just gotta keep going.

Third, and probably most important, if this is what you want to do forever, then don’t give up and try not to be to discouraged. Writing is hard, and getting accepted with an agent is even harder. Don’t even think about anything beyond that right now, as far as you’re concerned, that’s the Loch Ness monster.

I believe in you, and you should believe in you, too.

Now let’s get back out there and query our little faces off.

Good luck!

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

