So. Much. Writing Advice.

I feel like there is so much “writing advice” floating around on the internet.

Anyone who has ever written a story, no matter how/when/where/if it was published, will give you advice as soon as you mention that you’re writing. Believe me, it happens ALL THE TIME.

The worst piece of advice I’d ever gotten was someone telling me that I should go try to do radio before I try to write a novel or screenplay and attempt to sell it because that is a “smarter way to break into the field.”

Granted, that was 10 years ago, but still, it has to have been the worst piece of advice I had gotten after mentioning that I was writing.

Everyone thinks that they know best. It’s human nature, alas.

Basically, you’ve gotta find what works for you as a writer. If you need to kill a goat before every writing session, then by all means, do it. I guess.

Just because someone (published, self published or otherwise) says that they have advice, doesn’t mean that you have to take it. If they need to take their pants off to be comfy and maximize word output, then that’s good for them. It doesn’t meant that it’s the end-all be-all answer to your writing problems.

I could tell you a boat load of advice, things that work for me, tips that I use to beat writer’s block, what playlists don’t work for me when I require music… But I’m pretty sure you’d all kill me, and that no one would take me seriously after.

The point is that we are CONSTANTLY bombarded with advice.

“Write every day.”

“Eat your vegetables.”

“Write what you know.”

“Do your first draft by hand and type it up after.”

“Don’t edit as you go.”

“TOTALLY edit as you go.”

“Plot everything meticulously.”

“Don’t plot at all.”

The list goes on and on and on and on and on…

I’ve tried a lot of things. I tried a lot of suggestions in the 15 years I’ve been writing and not all of them were particularly good. None of them were particularly bad, either. I just tried my hand at everything until I found what worked the best for me. I used to be a notorious “pantser” but now I have to have a very specific outline for any project because I have so many ideas all at once, I get confused. Now? I have a mild panic attack if I don’t have that specific plan written out. It took me a while, but I figured out what worked and what didn’t.

And that’s what I’m suggesting for you. Try everything. Try nothing. Mix and match advice. It’s a veritable buffet out there. March to the beat of your own drum. Whatever you do, do it your way.

Good luck, and I hope you get the word count you’re looking for!

Do you have a particular piece of writing advice that you find invaluable? Wanna share it?

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

