Thoughts on Why I Don’t Dig YA

This is a bit of a rant but I’ll try to keep it brief.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: YA just isn’t my bag.

And I’ve finally figured out why.

I skipped the YA phase of life. I was already into things like THE ANDROMEDA STRAIN and INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE when I was the “appropriate age” for reading YA. “Young Adult” didn’t exist when I was younger. We had the mid-grade stuff and I read all of Sweet Valley High and Babysitter’s Club and Goosebumps, but I was 7. Then I started reading classics. Then, I had no luck finding things to read at my school library so I turned to writing.

The last thing that I read and liked that could be considered YA is Harry Potter, but that doesn’t count ’cause damn near everyone likes Harry Potter, and I was 13 when the series started so it was an investment.

Nowadays though, when I try to go read anything YA (and yes, I have tried, that’s how I know that I don’t like it, thank you.) I feel like clawing my eyes out. Why? Because the writing isn’t bad per se, but it sure as hell isn’t clever. It’s written in a way that suggests it is targeted at people with lower levels of reading comprehension and small vocabularies. It’s trite. It’s predictable.

It’s a lot of mass marketed rehashes of the same two plots.

I made a joke about a friend’s “fancy YA” and she asked what that meant. I replied, oh you know, that YA book with the girl, who is average, but has a huge role to play in the course of the world changing event that’s gonna happen, and there’s that boy she likes, but he’s mysterious and weird and hot and there’s magic or demons or ghosts or something paranormal anyway, and tragic romance and they get together anyway.

She came up with no less than 5 series that fit that description almost exactly.

So basically, I get bored of reading the same thing over and over and being treated like an idiot within the pages of the book. I know I’m not the “target demographic” but really, teenagers aren’t stupid. They deserve better than that.

And that’s kind of why, despite the fact that I don’t like it, I wrote a YA book, that is becoming a series, and I’m querying it. Variety is the spice of life and that goes with YA books too.

Got a YA suggestion for me that isn’t “fancy YA”? Leave me a comment and if I have time to read it, I might consider checking it out. Twilight clones and TFiOS need not apply.

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

Leave a Reply

