Writing Trends

Oh my GOD.

Don’t talk to me about writing trends.

Don’t even THINK about writing trends.

It’s almost IMPOSSIBLE to predict who is gonna love what and when. That’s like trying to herd cats.

The big trend has been zombies. I love zombies. I have a book about zombies. Two, actually, and I’m working on a different one in my spare time.

The PROBLEM is that zombies have been done to death. Pun not intended. There’s been a huge media flood of zombies because everyone keeps wanting more zombies. It’s like the 50 Shades thing. There’s been an upswing in erotica and BDSM stories being published and selling because everyone went insane over this ONE THING.

The problem is that by the time you’ve got a polished piece of work ready to go and submit and get picked up and go to print, unless there’s a magic faerie and you get a full scale rush job, the trend is gonna be over and you’re gonna be left hanging with this piece of work that you might never want to sell or look at ever again.

And you never know if the trend will come back.

If it does or if you can work it, fine, groovy, awesome, go for it! All the more power to you.

Really though, I live by the idea that I write what I want and it’ll get picked up when it’s good and ready.

What do you think about trends? Write for them? Write around them? Break the mold?

About kaikiriyama

I'm a writer. I write everything from shorts, to novels to screenplays and then some. I like comic books, ponies, zombies, pokemon, monsters, demons, vampires and mythology. I walk a fine line between badass, scary and girly. View all posts by kaikiriyama

One response to “Writing Trends

  • R.T. Wilder

    Amen to that. Timing isn’t about when you write a thing, it’s about when it sells. While one manuscript is waiting in the slush piles, you might as well be working on the next project, and the one after that. Those might catch on with people first, with the earlier work making a big splash later. Words don’t have an expiry date.

Leave a Reply

